Learn More About Personal Express Car Insurance Coverage
Your auto insurance rate is determined by several different factors. However, the number of years a driver has been licensed, their driving record and the annual mileage driven are most influential.
Auto insurance rates can fluctuate due to traffic violations, at-fault accidents, a change in vehicle use, a change in vehicle and a change in annual mileage driven.
In California, California Statutes in conjunction with the Department of Motor Vehicles determine which traffic violations are chargeable. If the DMV designates the violation as a one-point citation, the driving infraction will usually remain on the driver's record for 3 years. If the violation is assigned a two-point citation by the DMV, which usually involves more serious infractions such as DUI, driving with a revoked license, etc., the infraction will usually remain on the driver's record for 10 years. Assignment of a two-point violation by the DMV results in the driver losing the Good Driver Discount from Personal Express.
If an accident involves no injury, the driver is considered to be principally at fault (51% or greater) and property damages exceed $1,000, the driver will lose their Accident-Free Discount from Personal Express. If an accident involves injury, the driver is considered to be principally at fault (51% or greater) and damage exceeds $1,000, the driver will lose the Accident-Free Discount and the Good Driver Discount from Personal Express.
If you are involved in an accident and there is substantial evidence proving that you are not at fault, your premium will remain intact.
Vehicles with a positive safety record typically receive the lowest insurance rates. Additionally, comprehensive and collision rates typically decrease as a vehicle ages due to the decreasing market value. Please note that there are many factors that determine insurance rates. Reach out to your Homegrown Pro for more details regarding your specific needs.
California Insurance Code Section 1861.025 impacts the way auto insurance is underwritten. Proposition 103 provides that a person is a "good driver" and is eligible to purchase and receive a "Good Driver Discount" policy from their carrier of choice if:
- The driver has been licensed continuously for the previous 3 years, and
- The driver has no more than one violation point or one accident point.
Arizona does not have a good driver discount law similar to the law in California.
Young, inexperienced drivers are often more likely to be involved in more accidents than older, more experienced drivers. Drivers with the least driving experience pose the highest risk from an insurance standpoint, which is why rates for younger drivers are typically significantly higher. Personal Express offers a Good Student Discount and an Inexperienced Young Driver Discount to help curb costs. Talk to your local Personal Express agent to learn more about the discounts we offer.
You will probably not receive enough money to purchase a new car because vehicles are not usually insured for replacement value. Losses are settled on an actual cash value basis and for the fair market value. Actual cash value is the sum of money required to pay for damages or lost property, computed on the basis of replacement value less depreciation from general wear. Fair market value is the value of your property at the time of the loss. Check with your agent to see if there is a Replacement Cost Endorsement available at an additional cost if you want this coverage.
Whether your auto insurance policy provides coverage if you rent a car depends on the type of insurance coverage you have and the state in which you rent the rental vehicle.
Some states require the rental car company’s insurance carrier to be primarily responsible for any liability coverage up to the state's required Financial Responsibility Limits of Liability and your personal auto insurance policy would be secondary for liability coverage. However, this is not the case in every state including California where rental car companies are not required to provide you with liability coverage when renting one of their vehicles.
If you do not carry comprehensive or collision coverage on any vehicles you own, you can usually purchase that coverage through the rental car company. If you do carry comprehensive and collision coverage on the vehicles you own, your policy usually affords this coverage for the rental car, subject to the policy exclusions and deductibles you carry.
As long as the vehicle is registered for use on public highways, your Personal Express policy affords coverage for the vehicle for up to 14 days from the acquisition date. Coverage for the newly acquired vehicle will have the broadest coverage we currently provide for any vehicle listed on your policy. It is your responsibility to establish the date that the vehicle was purchased under these circumstances.
However, if you do not carry comprehensive or collision coverage on any vehicle you own, your new vehicle will not be covered for any losses to the vehicle itself. If you do not currently carry this coverage on your policy but would like to, you must call your Personal Express agent prior to driving home your new vehicle.
Still Have Questions?
Insurance doesn’t have to be confusing or complicated. If your question hasn’t been answered or if you would like more information about our products, please give us a call at 1-800-499-3612 or visit your local Personal Express office.
*Please note that this information is valid only in the State of California.